Almost taken the Nissan Plunge

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexharry18

Reaction score
Hi folks,

A very new person here on the forum - thank you for the platform and letting me join.
I've previously had a Toyota Hilux 1995 for about 12 years. It was my first car and clocked up 400,000km on it.
I'm after a 4WD again and have almost bought my first Nissan - a 2004 D22 ZD30DDT 3.0 litre dual cab diesel with 150,000 km. I've almost been sold on it until my mechanic somewhat fear mongered/gave a healthy warning about some nissans having timing chain issues.
Very saddened by this and have been trying to do some research since then. I've always liked the Navaras of this era (and the older ones also of the 90's). This car checked out ok during my inspection of it - although I'm no expert.
Hoping to learn more from the forum on this timing chain issue, its prevalence and make the right decision for me.

Into the future, if the purchase goes through ultimately, I look forward to having the forum to assist me maintain the car as I definitely turned to the internet to sort out many problems with my old hilux over the course of her life with me!
Thanks for having me on board.

the zd30 has never had timing chain issues. it was the later D40 yd25 that has them.
the main issues with zd30 is the injection pump and lack of intercooler.

Hey @alexharry18

Alot of what you hear and what you read is the worst of the worst.
People with a problem tend to post the most.
If your first instinct was that the car is clean and tidy, to your liking and within your budget - Buy It!!

Don't let anyone say otherwise